The Five Love Languages

Have you heard about the five love languages? Today will be exploring the different ways we experience love. You may be familiar with the book ‘The Five Love Languages’ which explores how people give and receive love in different ways. Author Dr. Gary Chapman thinks there are five love languages:

  1. Words of Affirmation
  2. Acts of Service
  3. Receiving Gifts
  4. Quality Time
  5. Physical Touch 

The idea is that by learning your love language and sharing it with your partner, they can learn it too. Neither way is right or wrong, everyone gives and receives love differently but the idea is that relationships work better when we understand ourselves and our partner with insight into our differences. We’re better equipped to communicate and offer each other what we need.

That being said, the more we understand ourselves the deeper our relationships can flourish. As Aristotle said, knowing yourself is the beginning of all wisdom.

What is YOUR main love language?

Tagged with: